Guest Comments

A SINCERE Thank you to our guests for taking the time to write their comments in our Guests’ Book.
We welcome and appreciate your feedback.

May 2024

Justine & Tamzin – Croydon – 23rd to 25th
What a lovely relaxing cottage! We had the best time, you can tell a lot of care has gone into making this place feel very comfortable and special – we could feel the love! Will definitely recommend!

Chris T. – Melbourne – 8th to 22nd
8th time return guest – May 2015, May 2016, October 2016, April 2018, May 2019, May 2021, May 2022

I’m back again – for two whole weeks this time! And how lovely it is to once again be here enjoying this tranquil spot and Lee and Rob’s very warm and generous hospitality. It is indeed good for the soul!

Tonia & Tullio – Melbourne – 2nd to 5th
9th time return guests – April 2017, April 2018, May 2018, April, 2019, June 2020, May 2021, May 2022, May 2023

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We never tire of this beautiful place and why would we when the hospitality is generous in every way –
See you again next year.

April 2024

Peter & Anthony – Melbourne – 26th & 27th
Dear Lee & Rob
Thank you so much for a amazing stay, going above and beyond to take care of everything we could possibly need – including the power point [for EV charging] I do hope it attracts more business for you, we would certainly put Stanley Goose as our No. 1 choice when next up this way! Be sure to look at the PlugShare App as a way of letting people know it’s availability and of course on your Airbnb listing. Thanks again. The edibles & liqueur were amazing!

Stephen & Pauline – Newcastle – 22nd to 25th
Return guests – April 2022

Thanks Lee & Rob for another terrific stay at Stanley Goose. It is one of our all-time favourite spots to visit – we love everything about the cottage, the area and, in particular, your hospitality 🙂 . We’ll definitely see you again!!

Chloe & Lynn – Waterways, Vic. – 19th & 20th
Lee & Rob went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible and make my mum’s birthday extra special! We had some delicious treats from Lee and loved seeing the thought and detail that went into this cottage. We loved every minute of our stay and have found a little gem tucked away in our favourite country getaway destination. We will be back again!

Lindy & Pete – Newcastle – 15th, 16th & 17th
Quiet, comfortable, everything at your fingertips plus delicious treats from Lee’s kitchen. Loved every minute of our 3 nights. Thanks for the recommendation of the Stanley Pub, we wish it was our local too! Can’t wait to come back again.

Maddi & Andrew – White Hills – 12th & 13th
A much needed breath of fresh air, a deep sigh of relief, a peaceful resonance, how beautiful and radiant. All the added touches of candles. I love candles! We picked some chestnuts and had a wonderful time! Thank you so much, deeply! for having this gorgeous space open to relax in.
If you’ll have us we’d love to come back & maybe join in on some tai chi! xx

Kevin – Ararat – 8th to 11th
A great place to stay while walking the area. So quiet & peaceful The geese got a bit used to me wandering around. The birds around all have a sense of safety here, which helps to make it lively & feel like there is so much life around. A regular kangaroo & young one also feel safe. A beautiful place to stay. Thank you.

Marion & Albert – Langwarrin – 2nd to 5th
Return guests – December 2023

Thank you once again for a very special stay in your delightful cottage. We hope to come back later in the year. The hospitality from Lee & Rob is so appealing. Delicious goodies left for us to enjoy, such a treat! The bush surrounds are so beautiful, plenty of birds, kangaroos and the geese are so lovely to watch while enjoying a cuppa on the patio. We are going home with gorgeous fresh apples, pears & chestnuts grown locally in the surrounding orchards. We also found the Artisan Bakery where beautiful ‘sourdough’ bread can be purchased. So yummy!! There is so many great things to do up here. Highly recommend a stay here.

March 2024

Rob & Jess – Beveridge – 28th to 31st
Thank you for our wonderful stay We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves & the peaceful surroundings. We’ve enjoyed watching the geese wandering around ‘honking’ at each other. Everything was well thought out for a most enjoyable, comfortable stay & all the extra touches we’ve very much appreciated. The Cottage is fantastic, has everything you need & more. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

Raquel & Tony – Wandong – 22nd & 23rdAirbnb 5* Review
What an amazing little gem. Really loved staying at Stanley Goose. Lee was lovely host and was really helpful and welcoming. The cottage was cute, with all the required amenities that suited our needs for a long-weekend away. We loved the nice little touches that Lee provided, like welcome fruit, chocolate and nut bowl; it really made us feel welcome. The Stanley Goose was very comfortable and we totally loved feeling toastie-warm by the fire. Thank you for your kind hospitality Lee. We would love to come and visit again Xx

Marcus – (near) Wollongong – 15th to 17th Airbnb 5* Review
Very cosy, private place, and a short pleasant drive from Beechworth. Hosts very responsive and generous with small details.

Wayne and partner – Wangaratta – 8th & 9thAirbnb 5* Review
Such a beautiful, peaceful place. Lee is a fabulous host with great communication and information. We loved our stay and the amazing Sauna is an absolute bonus.

February 2024

Heather, Mark & (not a baby now), Violet – Brighton, England – 6th-8th
5th time return guests – February 2014, February 2016, February 2017, February 2019

Roses are Red
Violets are Blue
We love coming
To stay with you

Thank you so much Lee & Rob for having us stay in your beautiful, homely cottage. We absolutely love it 🙂
Our family all feel so relaxed here with the wildlife & fresh air. The area is so trendy, can’t wait for next time.
Time 5 🙂 – all the way from England.

January 2024

Nicola – 26th & 27th – Airbnb 5* Review
Beautiful surroundings .. private accommodation away from main house. Enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the kangaroos, fairy wrens, finches, kookaburras and wide range of parrots enjoying the garden. Loved meeting the famous geese of Stanley Goose. Thoughtful touches around the cottage with some homemade and home grown treats. Loved the area and the accommodation. Would definitely visit again.

Ben – Melbourne – 19th & 20th – Airbnb 5* Review
Such a lovely place that felt so cozy and peaceful. The surrounding area was lovely and such a short drive into town

Nic & Jane – SE Melbourne – 3rd to 16th
9th time return guests – January 2019, April 2019, January 2021, May 2021, January 2022, August 2022, January 2023, July 2023

Dearest Lee & Rob,
Once again we’ve been dropped in the thick of it – paradise! The crew of attendants were all there – kangas, koalas, birds of every feather, fabulous and generous hosts, the weather, the kids (a disobedient flock of geese), the locals – we could go on & on!!
Best thing to do is to come back!!
See you again – Nic & Jane xxx

December 2023

The Morton Family – (near) Geelong – 27th to 29th
We loved our stay at Stanley Goose Cottage!
My husband loves bird watching and wildlife and was not disappointed. We saw 2 koalas on the property along with kangaroos and lots of different birds. Our 10 month baby loved the outdoor area. It was a fitting touch to see a Daphne plant out the front of the Cottage as this is our daughter’s name. I also enjoyed some baby free time in the sauna, something for everyone at Stanley Goose Cottage.
Thank you Lee & Rob for having us and your generosity. Hope you both have a wonderful new year. The Mortons

Kathryn – Wodonga – 24th & 25thAirbnb 5* Review
A truly delightful peaceful stay. The cottage was spotless, cozy and had everything you needed. A fully equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom and delightful veranda with views of the garden and active bird life. Lee went out of her way to make you feel at home – adding in delicious home-made and homegrown snacks and thoughtful touches. Highly recommended!

Albert & Marion – Melbourne – 14th to 16th
Dear Lee & Rob,
You have such a beautiful, peaceful & very comfortable piece of heaven here. It is so tranquil, with lovely birds, & the geese are a treat to watch. The gardens are a real treat too.
Thank you so very much for the lovely complimentary goodies, we enjoyed everything!
Our stay is not a long one this time, but we sure would love to come back again next year and definitely stay longer.
We have spent many happy hours sitting out on the verandah with our tea, coffee & a glass of wine.
Thank you for such a memorable visit. Kindest regards,
Albert & Marion

Kitta and Tom – NSW – 9th to 11th
Dear Lee & Rob
Thank you so much for your hospitality. Your attention to detail made for an amazing stay & your place is very welcoming.
We loved all the birds you have living in your garden, including the geese (the goslings were very cute!) and your hand picked berries were great.
Thank you so much, we’ll definitely have Stanley Goose on the radar for next time we’re staying in the area!
– Kitta & Tom 🙂

November 2023

Susie and James – Melbourne – 17th & 18th
Dear Lee and Rob
Thank you so much for your hospitality! This is one of our best experiences ever! We truly enjoyed our visit and stay here and it is a shame that we had to leave so soon!
Your attention to details and genuine kindness made our weekend so unforgettable. Everything was so thoughtful and went above and beyond. The detailed information throughout the whole trip, we felt so valued not only as guests but as friends. We really appreciate the effort you put into creating such a beautiful and relaxing environment and we look forward to returning to Stanley Goose in the future!
Love, Susie and James

Heather & Steve – NSW – 8th-10th
Dear Lee and Rob,
Thank you for the most relaxing and peaceful few days at Stanley Goose. What a beautiful lifestyle you exist in, and you offer it to others! We have truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, from the quiet sleep-ins, the “honking”, “hello we are here” from your funny geese, the amazing sunsets and the kangaroos quietly visiting. The cottage leaves nothing to be desired, the fine details are so welcoming – thank you.
It is so obvious of your love of this place through your presentation of Stanley Goose, your beautiful property and your welcoming of us.
We will definitely be back, next time for longer.
Thank you for everything, but especially for allowing us to experience this wonderful part of the world.
Love Heather and Steve

Jason Melbourne – 4th-6th (from our Airbnb listing)
Welcomed by king parrots and rosellas with beautiful open hillside covered in trees and flowers. breakfast on the verandah with spinebills, fantails and wrens having a birdbath, then stroll around the property with kangaroos and koalas searching for the satin bowerbird display. chuckle at the train of geese as they waddle home honking from a day in the paddock. so peaceful and comfortable also inside with hot dual showers and sauna and into bed under thick blankets and hot stove if you need it. the cottage has everything you need and stocked with home grown treats, so well set out, secluded and private, a truly wonderful place to unwind…

October 2023

Monty and Cam – Melbourne – 13th-18th
Dear Lee and Rob
Thank you so much for being amazing hosts and making my 21st Birthday great. Your hospitality was outstanding, we’ve had a nice stay away from work and school. Everything here was super cozy and the nature was amazing. We will be back, hopefully soon.
Monty and Cam

Sina & Brynley – Albury – 5th, 6th & 7th
Thank you Lee & Rob for an amazing stay!
Such a beautiful little getaway not far from home. So relaxing & welcoming. We really appreciate you letting us stay. Feeling very relaxed after the sauna & ready to tackle a week @ work again.
Cheers, Sina & Brynley 🙂

September 2023

Heather & Gerald – Melbourne – 28th, 29th & 30th
4th time return guests – May 2016, June 2018, June 2020

Dear Lee & Rob,
Thank you so much for everything. We had another wonderful break @ Stanley Goose.
We lost count of how many times we’ve been here but we are sure that we will BE BACK AGAIN!!! Heather & Gerald

Kate & Markus – Northcote – 22nd & 23rd
Dear Lee & Rob,
Your hospitality was wonderful. We had such a relaxing mini break @ your cottage. Loved your eye-4-detail in the cottage & the care you took 2 look after us (The welcoming lit fire, slice, Rob walking us the back way 2 the Stanley Hotel). We also appreciated the quietness, the birds, (& quirky geese), the koala & kangaroos. We can highly recommend the Stanley Hotel & Eldorado [Road] Wines in Beechworth. Plus E-bike hirer @ The Old Gaol & the local walks. Ohh nearly forgot the sauna is worth testing out also. Warm regards, Kate & Markus

Joy – Sydney NSW – 8th, 9th & 10th
Dear Lee & Rob
Thank you so much for so many things. A beautiful place to stay – thoughtfulness at so many levels – knowing I had two people coming for a meeting and providing some treats for all 3 of us. I was so touched. I loved the kangaroos, the geese, the birds, the fire, the sauna and the brownies (actually not dry at all). Spending time with you over coffee added to the experience.
Thank you – I will be back. Joy.

Liz & Leon – Eastwood NSW – 2nd, 3rd & 4th
Dear Lee and Rob
Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful cottage Loved seeing the kangaroos in the morning and the beautiful geese wandering around.
The bird song is amazing!
Altogether we had a lovely experience. Regards Liz & Leon

August 2023

Shaz & Robyn – NE Victoria – 26th
Thank you guys for a beautiful stay in your amazing Cottage! We loved it!

Jessica & Will – Melbourne – 18th & 19th
Thank you for a wonderful stay. We really appreciated the toasty, roaring fire when we arrived – particularly as it was so late. All of the generous touches were welcome too and the attentiveness you showed without being at all obtrusive.
We’d love to come back again! Thank you so much.

Jerome & Louis – Melbourne – 10th, 11th & 12th
We had an amazing getaway at the Goose Farm. Rob & Lee provided an incredible experience and hospitality was what made this one of our incredible moments of our life. Gonna miss the fireplace, kangaroos and geese when we leave. Thank you again for an incredible experience.

July 2023

Jane & Nic – SE Melbourne – 23rd-30th
8th time return guests – January 2019, April 2019, January 2021, May 2021, January 2022, August 2022, January 2023

Dear Lee & Rob,
As always a beautiful relaxing stay – you even managed to arrange beautiful sunny weather for us and it was warm enough to sit & relax on the verandah watching the Roos and Geese.
It’s not fair that just as we are relaxing into the chilled Goose Cottage vibe that we have to pack up & go home.
We will be counting the days until we return in January.
Thank you for continuing to share your little patch of paradise.
Love Jane & Nic xxx

June 2023

Geoff & Holly – Melbourne – 14th & 15th
Dear Lee & Rob
Thank you for being such accommodating hosts and for a wonderful stay at “Stanley Goose”. We are heading back to Melbourne feeling refreshed and rejuvenated! The extra touches like the welcome goodies, lit fire and the “detox box” made the cottage super welcoming and left us feeling pampered.
Thoroughly enjoyed watching the birds & kangaroos the beautiful property & crackling fire.
Thanks again,
Holly & Geoff

Sue & Steve – Melbourne – 9th & 10th
4th time return guests – September 2019, January 2022, June 2022

Hi Rob & Lee
Back again and enjoyed the peace & tranquility again. Thanks for allowing us to share your fabulous cottage with us. This seems to be our mid-year annual retreat now!!
Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Take care,
Sue & Steve

May 2023

Lisa & Richard – Sydney – 28th & 29th
What a beautiful, peaceful place we have discovered! We are already talking about when we can come back for a longer stay as two nights was definitely not long enough.
Thank you Lee and Rob for your very kind welcome and generous hospitality. Everything was wonderful and we really appreciated the care and kindness you showed us after a shaky start to our holiday! Much more relaxed now!
Looking forward to seeing you, your lovely property and this beautiful region again one day.
Lisa and Richard

Tonia & Tullio – Melbourne – 4th to 8th
8th time return guests, April 2017, April 2018, May 2018, April, 2019, June 2020, May 2021, May 2022

Another wonderful stay at Stanley Goose. Our 8th visit and always too short!
Thanks Rob and Lee for your friendship, your generosity and delicious raspberry jam.
Walking through the Redwood Forest was a highlight, thank you Rob & Lee.
So many great memories. Look forward to our next visit. Plan to add mushroom foraging to our schedule next time!
Tonia & Tullio

April 2023

Allyson & Martin – 21st & 22nd
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stanley Goose Cottage. The fire was already lit, making for such a pleasurable start to our little getaway. The fresh flowers, berries, shortbread & personal touches have made for such a lovely stay. We were thrilled to have the geese wandering around the cottage while we enjoyed brekky outside in the sunshine. Also loved the Detox Box. Fabulous way to end the day.
Thank you so much. We will for sure recommend your little cottage and hope to be back again ourselves.
Allyson & Martin

Elena & Tom – Melbourne – 14th & 15
Return guests October 2021

Thank you for another splendid stay at Stanley Goose! We loved coming back to the warm and homely cottage, surrounded by the cheeky gaggle of geese.
Beautiful touches with the fresh flowers from your garden, juicy raspberries and cosy heat from the fireplace.
Looking forward to returning again soon. And we’ll keep singing your praises to those looking for a charming country getaway.
Elena & Tom

Laura & Nick – Melbourne – 7th-10th
Thank you for a wonderful Easter Break! The wildlife, flowers, shortbread & fresh raspberries made our stay.
Even when the power was out for the evening, we had a wonderful time snacking on local produce and enjoying the glow of the fire.
The only challenge we faced was wanting to stay home and do nothing, but also wanting to explore everything the area has to offer. Thank you for a memorable visit.
Laura & Nick

Andrew & Kerrie – Canberra – 1st to 5th
Dear Lee & Rob
It’s been a pleasure to stay at Goose Cottage. Thank you for creating such a welcoming, comfortable & peaceful place. The flowers & fire are very cheering.
We hope to return for more relaxation & riding – and perhaps to see the elusive koala.
Best wishes
Andrew & Kerrie

March 2023

Antoinette & John – Melbourne – 23rd-25th
2nd time return guest – March 2018

Our second visit since 2018 and it was just as lovely as the first time.
We attended the Yackandandah Folk Festival but stole some mornings and evenings away from the festivities just to enjoy the special atmosphere of the cottage. Thanks again for all the extra treats.
Antoinette and John

February 2023

Alan & Kristy – 24th & 25th
Came for the Geese stayed for the silence and serenity.
So peaceful and relaxing. The silence is so intoxicating, recharges the batteries and clears and mind.
Alan & Kristy

January 2023

Didier & Kasumi – 27th & 28th
To Lee & Rob,
My husband & I have lived in cities all our lives and I always thought that I wish I had relatives in country side.
When we arrived here was a WOW moment!!
The cottage is surrounded in the nature, there are all kinds of herbs and flowers on the veranda and around the cottage … Everywhere what we hear is native birds chirping, no cars, complete serenity!! We found lots of surprises inside & outside of the cottage and felt lots of love & care, hospitality of Lee & Rob.
We came to visit the town of Beechworth but we spent only a little time there and ended up staying in the cottage by hearing & watching native birds visiting the cottage.
Thank you Lee & Rob for sharing your beautiful place & experience!! We really enjoyed it!!
Didier & Kasumi

Sally, Andrew & Baby George – 20th & 21st
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. We had such fun. I really felt like I could relax here. You both thought of everything. We will certainly be back.
Sally, Andrew & George

Jane & Nic – SE Melbourne – 3rd to 16th
7th time return guests – January 2019, April 2019, January 2021, May 2021, January 2022, August 2022

What can I say that we haven’t said before. Beautiful, serene home from home – I just wish our Melbourne home was like Goose cottage. We love the area. Rob & Lee are very generous and considerate souls who we now think of as friends. The daily walk to Hillsborough Nut Farm for a coffee & treat & great conversation is also a highlight & this year we were also lucky enough to catch Black Barn’s first U-Pick of the season.
Can’t wait to return @ the end of July & cosy up in front of the fire.
Much love, Jane & Nic